Letter From a Distraught Heart

To my love,

Life is full of surprises. I never expected to meet someone like you. I never expected to go down this road with you. I never expected to grow ever so attached to you, and I certainly have never dreamed of sharing a love that brought me to tears and laughter with no regrets too. Anticipating the future was never my strength. I have always been the type of person to see nothing but just the present. As I stared right onto the current page of my life book, you came to me like an unexpected twist—a sudden storm in the wide ocean as I sailed through the mist. You swept me off my feet like a hurricane; your sweet kindness and charm poured over me like blessed summer rain. What I never thought would come has come to me—something I never thought would come to be. Thankfulness is what my heart expresses for all the surprises you have brought to me.

You started as nothing but an enigma waiting to be unfolded; I came along to unravel your mysteries. With every clue dropped, I was delighted. With every puzzle piece, your image was slowly completed. As I got to know you, your image was engraved in the back of my mind. The more I got to know you, the more I wanted to get lost in your maze. Research and science may never figure you out, but your little details are tattooed on my skin. I know you like every single word on a memorized poem. I know you more than I know myself. Yet, no matter how much I can ace a test about you, you never fail to surprise me. You make me reconsider my own knowledge. You bring me back to square one thinking that all those clues never mattered. But it was all right. I can never get tired of getting to know you over and over again.

As our time passed, we held each other’s hands through thick or thin. I enjoyed every moment. I enjoyed every touch, kiss, hug, and conversation. If I can recount all of our precious memories together, it may out number even infinity. From the moment I first laid eyes on you to the last moment of your breath—I want all of it hanged as a picture on my wall of memories. I loved how your eyes twinkled when I first held your hand. I loved how you blushed red at my every compliment. I loved the sound of your breathing as we fell asleep together. I love every little thing about you. You lighten up my empty room. You fill my lonely heart with joy. Is there any reason for me to resent you? Is there any reason for me to let your hand go? No, I could never do such things.

However, as much as I loved every moment, our time was not perfect. We had our ups, yet the downs eventually came after. With laughter, there were tears, yet we tried our best to conquer our fears. Isn’t that exactly what life is? Has anyone really lived a life with no problems? Everyone has had their fair share of troubles and so did we. Our struggles made us who we eventually came to be. I am not perfect, and neither are you, but we learned to accept each other’s beauty, quirks, and imperfections when the sunlight comes to view. These dark, hidden imperfections aren’t to be ashamed of. These imperfections made our love unique and beautiful. Even with that, I am forever grateful. I have no regrets.

I know our time is soon ending and that this is our last goodbye. I write this to you even to your last dying breath. I write this to you even though you could never read it. I just want to say that throughout our entire life, I loved no one but you. You are very dear to me. I don’t think I can ever let you go. Even as you are slowly fading away into oblivion, I know you still reach out for me. You and I are getting farther apart, yet I still reach out for you too. Those bonds that held us ever so tightly together have snapped and separated us. You are falling into the inevitable and I cannot do anything to get you back. Now as I stare at your unconscious body, I am drenched in tears wanting to feel your warmth once again. How can I face this world without you? How can you leave me like this? You drift off to paradise and leave me all alone in this dark, chaotic world without your light. I need you. I miss you. I love you. And for now I cling to the hope that someday I could be with you again.


THE LAST CHAPTER

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

One thought on “Letter From a Distraught Heart

Leave a Reply

